2/17 R.I.P. Oppy!

In June 2018, the NASA Mars rover known as Opportunity (Oppy) sent his final transmission. He was originally supposed to be active for only 90 days (3 months), and travel 1,000 meters (1,100 yards), but ended up lasting 5,400 days (15 3/4 years), and going 45 kilometers (28 miles). The engineers lost connection with him when a Mars-wide dust storm blanketed his location. The engineers tried their best to regain control, but to no avail. Oppy sent his last transmission June 10th. his final transmission read “My battery is low and it is getting dark”. He will live on forever in our hearts. Hopefully one day we will make it to Mars and bring Oppy home.

Without Oppy we never would have found traces of water on Mars. His impact on our society is undeniable. I chose this article because lately I have been very interested in space. I also chose it because things like this are very important. My 3 questions are, Will we ever get to mars? Will we ever retrieve Oppy? Was Mars ever habitable?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *